During a normal lesson, students will be taught Kihon Waza, Uke Waza, Kata and Kumite.

Kihon Waza (Fundamental techniques) are how we develop striking and receiving skills.

Uke Waza (Receiving techniques) is performed with a partner and teaches students the correct use of blocks and strikes.

Kata (pattern). We teach historically correct Kata of the Shuri-te lineage as taught to all Ryukyukan members through Hanshi Nohara. These patterns teach students fighting skills that have been past down over hundreds of years.

Bunkai (Analysis). The study and analysis of the self-defence applications of the Karate Kata.

Oyo (Application). The Application of the techniques found within the Karate Kata.

Kumite (exchange of hands). Sparring is the culmination of all of the above training, allowing students to put the skills that have learnt into practice.

Kobudo is the practice of weapons used in the ancient Ryukyu’s. Some weapons evolved from farm implements which could be used by peasants against the swords of wealthier attackers. Other kobudo weapons were used by the upper class. We teach historically correct Kobudo of the Ryukyus as taught to Ryukyukan members by Hanshi Nohara. The practice of Kobudo improves the use of dachi (foot, leg and hip position) to generate power, conditions arm and hands, and sharpens focus and awareness.

In addition the many other aspects of Karate will be covered including self-protection & self-defence, throws, locks, escapes, grappling, pad-work, partner work, flow drills & conditioning.

Shorin Ryu Karate

The main technical characteristic of Shorin-ryu Karate is to concentrate one’s power (kime) into the target smoothly, accurately, in the precise instant it is needed. This method of concentrating power is practiced through the kata internally to externally, using movements that are naturally healthy for the practitioner. This practice causes no pressure on the internal organs and little disturbance of respiration. Relaxed natural movement punctuated with focused releases of power causes no unnecessary muscle fatigue. Energy is preserved leaving the body and mind alert and ready to respond as needed.

Shorin-ryu Kata List:
Naihanchi Shodan, Naihanchi Nidan, Naihanchi Sandan,
Pinan Shodan, Pinan Nidan, Pinan Sandan, Pinan Yondan, Pinan Godan,
Kusanku (sho) and Kusanku (dai)
Passai (sho) and Passai (dai)
Gojushiho, and Chinto.

Naihanchi kata is the most severe kata from the Shuri-te lineage, a tanren (conditioning for toughness) kata which involves strong stable footwork, side to side movements and natural breathing techniques. Naihanchi kata is aimed at training one’s body strictly, fostering a spiritual force which comes from the perseverance of severe training. Students begin with Naihanchi, and constantly return to this kata with higher levels of understanding. That’s why it is said that ‘Everything begins and ends with naihanchi’ in the Shuri-te system.

The Pinan kata was created by Anko Itosu as a training aid for his young students, and can be found in many karate styles today. It is said that Naihanchi is well suited for toughening the body and spirit, Kusanku is good for fostering alertness, and Passai is suited for putting training into practice. Chinto kata contains beautiful flowing Shuri-te movement. The fifty-four advanced karate movements found in the Gojushiho kata are said to have been hidden in an ancient Okinawan dance.

Ryukyukan Terminology
View PDF

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.